How I lost 40 pounds and kept it off for 14 years!

How I lost 40 pounds and kept it off for 14 years!

The journey started 14 years ago, it was the fall of 2000, and many lifetimes ago. One day I was sitting with my dad, and he said I didn’t look healthy. He mentioned he was concerned in the way fathers do. Also I realized I was not getting any younger, and I needed to do something about my health.

This was the time in my life I was destined to learn about the Tao. I had met my Buddhist life teacher that same year, and now I was about to embark on another journey; the journey back to health. I learned allot in a wonderful book by, Denial Reid, The Tao Of Health, Sex and Longevity. The book discussed deep breathing, Taoist principles and exercises, I can’t recommend this book enough. In the book it discussed one core belief which I have lived by the last 14 years, and has allowed me to go from 200 pounds to 160 and stay there all this time: it’s called food combinations. The way it works is that I only eat carbohydrates & veggies, meat & veggies, or fruit, and sweets always by themselves. I can’t really do justice to the deep dive in the book on this topic calledTrophology,” which I recommend you buy and read. Here is a direct quotation from this wonderful book:

“Trophology: The Science of Food Combining Compared to Taoist concepts of balance, the Western notion of a ‘balanced diet’ is simplistic and superficial. Western physicians advise everyone to take ‘a little of everything at every meal,’ jumbling together such disparate ingredients as meat, milk, starch, fat and sugar. Such indiscriminate consumption of food is no different than pouring a combination of gas, oil, alcohol and sugar into the gas tank of a car. These blends will not burn efficiently, will provide little power and will quickly clog up the engine so badly that the entire system grinds to a halt. The advice given in the quote at the beginning of this chapter, from a book presented to the founding emperor of the Ming Dynasty on the occasion of the author’s 100th birthday, clearly reflects the fact that the ancient Chinese were well aware of the importance of the science of food combining. This wisdom was once known to the West as well, as evidenced by Moses’ strict regulation that meat and milk must never be consumed at the same meal.” (Reid, Daniel, 2011-03-08, pp. 58-59).

More than weight loss, I found that eating a diet in this manner helps my body be more comfortable in all the areas you can imagine you might be uncomfortable related to food.

I believe low carb diets work for this reason, yet at the same time I believe extremes in general in life do not work, and we always come back to the middle (by choice or by force.)

I am happy to share my personal experiences further with anyone interested.

Also check out my prior post on “THREE BOOKS I LOVE”book #2

Here’s to a juicy steak, and vegetables (no potatoes for me please).

Christopher

References:

(Reid, Daniel (2011-03-08). The Tao Of Health, Sex and Longevity (Fireside Books (Fireside)) (pp. 58-59). Simon & Schuster, Inc.. Kindle Edition.

Leave a Reply

